What happens if I exceed my plan limits?
We believe reaching your current plan's limits shouldn't stop your users from being able to signup for your campaign. Your campaign shouldn't have to be interrupted just because you missed to upgrade to a higher plan immediately.
This is what separates Prefinery from our competitors, and why we've always mentioned it on our pricing page.
With that being said, there may be other areas in your campaign that can get affected when your reach your current plan's limit which can vary depending on your subscription:
When the subscriber limit (200) is reached:
- Excess users will be hidden until you upgrade to a higher plan that supports your current limit. Only the latest 200 users will be accessible through the dashboard UI.
- Emails will not be triggered nor sent to newer users past the limit.
When the email limit (500) is reached:
- Emails after the 500th one will not be queued nor sent - this means, as an example, that if you have double opt-in enabled the opt-in confirmation email will no longer be sent to the user which may cause them to remain in the "unconfirmed" status.
Still, even with the above limits the Free plan would allow you decent headroom for testing (you can look at it as a free trial with no time limit), but we always recommend that you launch with at least our Starter plan. Otherwise, you'll have to constantly monitor your email usage so that you can upgrade when getting close to the limits.
All Prefinery paid plans have no limits on features except for the subscriber/user limits which is discussed below.
Starter & Growth Plans
For either plans, when the subscriber limit is reached:
- Excess users will be hidden until you upgrade to a higher plan that supports your current limit. Only the latest 2,000 users for the Starter Plan or 10,000 users for the Growth Plan will be accessible through the dashboard UI.
- Emails and webhooks will not be triggered nor sent to newer users past the limit. This can affect any integrations you've setup using our webhooks, or like as mentioned in the Free Plan section opt-in emails not being sent if you have double opt-in enabled.
The Business Plan automatically scales beyond the plan's soft limit (25,000 users) up to 1M users via overage as detailed on our pricing page FAQ section. This means practically no interruption up to 1M users, and even so we would have reached out to you already as you near that extreme limit to assist you with scaling further.
For this reason we recommend that you choose the Business plan if you're expecting a rapid influx, especially for use cases where you want to import tens of thousands or more users into your project to jumpstart it as that can easily scale to the hundred thousands in some cases.