How to Disable Email Open Tracking

By default, Prefinery tracks it when a campaign user opens an email from you. If you send emails with open tracking enabled, we’ll automatically embed an invisible pixel in your emails to help capture what happens when the email is viewed.

If your campaign needs email open tracking fully turned off—or only disabled for a specific group of users or particular email messages—you can turn it off within the individual email messages.

Disabling email open tracking

1.) From your project dashboard, head over to 3. Emails > Messages, then Edit the email message that you want to disable open tracking on.

2.) In the email message editor, click on Settings

3.) Scroll down the Settings page to find the Track opens? option and Uncheck it. Make sure your changes are saved.

☝️ Tip: You can duplicate an existing email message, then update the duplicate’s Delivery Conditions (for example, set Country to X). You can also disable open-tracking so you can send different versions of the same email content to different target users. This is especially helpful if you have a specific group of recipients who would prefer not to have open-tracking enabled for the emails they receive from you.

Limitations

HTML only

By default, all campaign emails include both HTML and a plain text version. Since tracking pixels can only be added to HTML emails, if someone only reads the plain text version, we won’t be able to track opens for those emails.

Blocked images

If a user views your emails in an email client that blocks images from loading, opens can’t be tracked for those emails.

Ad Blockers

Ad blockers can interfere with open tracking—especially if the user’s setup blocks the tracking pixel URL.

Gmail

When users open emails via the Gmail website or mobile apps, Gmail will display images served through a proxy server. That means we can detect when an open happens for Gmail users. However, we won’t be able to detect geography, operating system, or some other details.

Apple Mail

Starting in iOS 15, Apple lets iOS users using Apple Mail enable a setting called Mail Privacy Protection that can cause false-positive opens to be reported.

Still need help? How can we help? How can we help?